top of page

Moon Pie




A couple of weeks ago the lunar eclipse was all the talk and for good reason, the next one isn’t until August of 2044.  It was an exciting thing to be able to witness here in greater Cincinnati.  There were memes, tee-shirts, highly priced eclipse glasses, and traffic from out of towners. I saw a list for eclipse snacks- moon pies, star crunch, sun maid raisins.  This got me thinking.  Moon Pie. Moon Pie?  I have seen them in connivence stores and gas stations during my life. The yellow quarter moon smiling at me.


 Moon pies all started in 1917 when coal miners asked for a snack “as big as the moon” that was filling and quick to eat.  What started with coal miners soon turned to servicemen and women during WWII. Care packages were often packed with moon pies.  Mothers in the 1950’s and 60’s considered moon pies a “wholesome” snack.  Perhaps the meaning of wholesome has changed some since then.  The company says the have continued to change with the times. Moon pies advertise themselves and most folks recognize the logo. 

Today the company in Chattanooga, TN continues on with single and double decker moon pies, minis, and seasonal flavors.  The original flavor was chocolate and then banana came along. 


I have no personal experience with this treat. I used to love Star Crunch and the tiny boxes of sun maid raisins.  Never in my 53 years have I experienced a moon pie. 

The day after the eclipse, April 9, I was filling my car with gas and thought, let me just go inside here and see.  It was my lucky day! The moon pies were not with the candy nor were they with the cookies.  I found them with the protein and granola bars, perhaps they are wholesome? 5 grams of protein and over 70 grams carbohydrates according to the box label. I bought a vanilla and a chocolate.  After dinner, yes, I waited to build my excitement!  I open each moon pie and cut into slices.  First bite…humm. Second bite…ok.  Third…”this is a s’more” I said out-loud. A soft s’more with subpar chocolate.  


I began to ponder.  I have never had a moon pie before this, but I’ll bet I can make my own that tastes better.  For 4 days I read all kinds of recipes.   Some were very complicated and required making my own marshmallow. Some required chilling, rolling, and cutting out circles. I then ran across a recipe that was more my style.  Mix up the graham cracker cookie dough. Chill briefly then scoop into small balls.  Bake and then immediately smash with a spatula. Once cooled I used my store boughten “Jet-Puffed” marshmallow fluff. The same stuff I used as a kid to make toasted peanut and fluff toast.  I used a generous tablespoon to press between two cookies.  The recipe called for dipping the cookies into chocolate.   I made my own chocolate with semi-sweet and bitter-sweet Ghirardelli chocolate and drizzled the cookies instead.  Much easier.

They were not the most beautiful thing I have baked but they were fun.  100 percent approved by family, friends, and coworkers.  Of course they tasted nothing like the store made moon pies. Similar ingredients but so much tastier. Lots of sugar, lots of carbs, great chocolate.   I will probably make them again! Around the time of the next eclipse.  Unless I get a special order! 







Historical information was found on https://moonpie.com/about


bottom of page